Skip to Content

Council Appoints Inaugural Board For WBEDC

Fort McMurray, AB, Canada / MIX 103.7
Council Appoints Inaugural Board For WBEDC

The former President and CEO of WestJet is coming to the RMWB to help businesses and improve the economy.

Council approved the first board for the Wood Buffalo Economic Development Corporation at a special meeting on Tuesday.

The chair will be Gregg Saretsky who had Westjet’s top position from 2010 – 2018.

“I am delighted to be joining the inaugural board as its Chair and look forward to the exciting opportunities we have ahead of us to promote the region and develop new business interests,” said Saretsky, in a release.

Mayor Don Scott tells Mix News Saretsky has already shown his dedication to the region.

“He flew up here on his own dime and we gave him a helicopter tour, he saw the region and is really passionate about the region.”

Scott says the board should also really help improve the region’s brand.

“We need to improve our brand and make sure we’re telling a good story about this region.”

The rest of the board includes seven community members and two from other parts of Alberta.

The local members are Doug Allen, Andrew Boutilier, Doreen Cole, Dan Fouts, Kristi Hines, Ron Quintal, and RJ Steenstra. Former MP James Rajotte and Retired Major-General Timothy Grant will also be part of the inaugural board. 

Comments are closed.