Skip to Content

Four Fort McMurray Oil Barons Among Finalists For AJHL Awards

Fort McMurray, AB, Canada / MIX 103.7
Four Fort McMurray Oil Barons Among Finalists For AJHL Awards

The finalists for the American Junior Hockey League season end awards are now official.

Three Fort McMurray Oil Barons are being nominated – Eric Szudor, Shane Fraser, and Chris Curr.

For the second year, Head Coach Tom Keca is being nominated for coach of the year, an award he won in 2017.

He tells Mix News this award is the last thing on his mind throughout the season.

“It’s definitely a recognition because of the group of players that we have in our dressing room. It’s an award that recognizes the entire coaching staff.”

Goaltender Eric Szudor is being among the three finalists for ‘Goaltender of the Year.’

He currently boasts a record of 24-8-2, with a 2.93 Goals Against Average and .910 save percentage.

“He proved himself last year that he is an elite goaltender, he’s secured a scholarship to the University of Alaska Anchorage – so very well deserved,” said Keca. “A lot of people would¬†say maybe it’s the team in front of the goaltender but I know our success is largely due to the face that we have a great goaltender in Eric.”

Backup goalie Chris Curr is also being nominated for a prestigious award. He will be up for ‘Rookie of the Year’ as he’s currently posting a record of 15-4-2, with a 2.37 Goals Against Average and .923 save percentage.

“He’s had a phenomenal year, he’s exceeded any expectations that we had as a coaching staff,” added Keca. “He’s probably played more than we had envisioned and that’s a direct result of the hard work that he puts in on a daily basis.”

Captain Shane Fraser is being nominated for the ‘Most Dedicated Player.’

“He¬†epitomizes everything we want in a player, he’s our captain, he’s our leader, vocal in the dressing room when he needs to be, but really his strength is on the ice with his commitments for every single aspect, whether it’s offensive or defensive,” said Keca.

The winners will be announced during the last week of the regular season.

Comments are closed.