Skip to Content

Fort McMurray Catholic School Board Trustees Sworn In

Fort McMurray, AB, Canada / MIX 103.7
Fort McMurray Catholic School Board Trustees Sworn In

Left to Right: FMCSB Trustees Paula Galenzoski, Anthony Hoffman, Keith McGrath, Robert Yaro, and Cathie Langmead // Jaryn Vecchio - Harvard Broadcasting

The trustees for the Fort McMurray Catholic School Board are the first to be sworn in after the election.

On Monday, Paula Galenzoski, Keith McGrath, Anthony Hoffman, Robert Yaro, and Cathie Langmead said their oath, signed a legal document, and are now officially a part of the Catholic School Board.

“I wanted to come back because I didn’t think my job was finished,” said Galenzoski, who was also named Board Chair. “I just want to make sure our district has the best leadership and has the best opportunity to provide exceptional education.”

Each trustee, except for Hoffman, has some experience on the board. McGrath is entering his 13th year as a trustee, while Galenzoski is now in her second term.


Yaro – who was also named Vice-Chair – and Langmead have little experience as they were first elected in back-to-back by-elections in late 2016 and early 2017.

Yaro replaced Geraldine Carbery – who passed away in August 2016 after serving eight terms. Langmead won the seat previously owned by Tracy McKinnon – who resigned back in January.

Hoffman is the only “new” face on the board.

“I felt this was an incredible opportunity to really participate in a community that gave so much to me – I grew up here through our Catholic school system and for me to be able to do a little bit more now that I’m grown up and gone through our system – try to give back and work hand and hand with the rest of the board to make sure our students and teachers are taken care of the best they can.”

As for Galenzoski and Hoffman, the main task over the next four-years will be to help staff, students, teachers, and the community continue to move forward with recovery from the wildfire.

Comments are closed.